When the shield is divided so that there are dexter and sinister sides, the division is “per pale” or “impaled.” If the division is so there is a chief section and a bottom section, the division is “per fesse.” A division is “per cross” or “quarterly” if it is divided into four roughly equal quarters: dexter chief (northwest, as one looks at the shield), sinister chief (northeast), sinister base (southeast), and dexter base (southwest). Another type of division is “per bend.” In this case there are two sections divided roughly in half at an angle. The division begins dexter chief (northwest) and finishes sinister base (southeast).